Emerging Scientist Competition

The Emerging Scientist competitors must not have completed their last degree more than one year prior to July 1 of the year they participate. If an academic rank is held, it can be no higher than Assistant Professor.

  • The participant must be senior author of the competition paper and must not have placed in the top three in any previous AFGC Emerging Scientist Oral competitions.
  • B.S., M.S. and Ph.D. students’ graduates are eligible to participate.
  • Nominations must be made by a current professor.
  • Nominees who are not selected to participate in the oral competition will be given the option to participate in the poster competition.

⇒ Emerging Scientist Competition Information

⇒ 2025 Emerging Scientist Nomination Form 


AFGC Emerging Scientist Sponsor:


2024 Winners

Oral Competition:

1. Annabell McEachin, University of Georgia

2. Jonathan Kubesch, Virginia Tech

3. Nicolas Caram, University of Florida

Poster Competition:

1. Abbigail Hines, Auburn University

2023 Winners

Oral Competition:
Emerging Sceintist DOW

1. Echo Gotsick, University of Kentucky
2. Sanjok Poudel, VA Tech
3. Malerie Fancher, University of Tennessee

2022 Winners

Oral Competition:

1. Justin Burt, University of Georgia

2. Nicholas Shay, University of Georgia

3. Charlotte Talbott, North Carolina State University

Poster Competition:

1. Kendall Whatley, University of Georgia

2. Ethan Henderson, North Carolina State University

2021 Winners
Oral Competition:

1. Russell Carrell, Auburn University

2. Jordan Cox-O’Neill, North Carolina State University

2020 Winners
Oral Competition:

1. Shelby Gruss, Purdue University

2. Kaylyn Groce, University of Georgia

3. Katie Mason, Auburn University

Poster Competition:

Sarah Shoup, Auburn University

2019 Winners
Oral Competition:

1.Aubrey Jaqueth

2.Taylor Hendricks

3.Sam Ingram

Poster Competition:

Sarah Jane Thomsen, Virginia 

2018 Winners
Oral Competition:

1. Eric Billman, Mississippi State

2. Morgan Pyles, UK

3. Michelle DeBoer, Univ of Minnesota

Poster Competition:

1. Devan Catalano, Univ of Minnesota 

2. AnnMarie Riley, UK

3. Veronica Bill, UK

2017 Oral Competition Winners:

1st Place–Deidre Harmon

2nd Place–Paige Smart

3rd Place–Gabe Pent

2017 Poster Competition Winners:

1st Place–Kelly Mercier, Virginia Tech

2nd Place–Smriti Pehim Limbu, North Carolina State University

3rd Place–Taylor Hendricks, University of Georgia